Bradford College

Degree level: Undergraduate
Awarded by: Pearson EDI

Computing (HTQ)

There are other course options available which may have a different vacancy status or entry requirements – view the full list of options

Make sure you check on the university, college or conservatoire website for any updates about course changes as a result of COVID-19.

Course summary

Our Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing offers participants three distinct pathways:

  • Higher National Diploma in Computing
  • Higher National Diploma in Computing (Cyber Security)
  • Higher National Diploma in Computing (Data Analytics)
In year 1 (Full-time) you will study eight units. Six units are universal to all three pathways and then you will study a further 2 specialist units, while (Part-time) will study 4. In year 2 (Full-time) you will study eight units. Two units are universal to all three pathways and then you will study a further 6 specialist units. while (Part-time) will study 4.

This Higher Technical Qualification is approved against occupational standards decided by employers. Learn more about Higher Technical Qualifications.


In the General Computing pathway you study specialist topics such as: Programming Database Design & Development Security Software Development Lifecycles Website Design & Development Business Process Support In the Cyber Security pathway you study specialist topics such as: Networking Cyber Security Applied Cryptography in the Cloud Information Security Management Forensics Applied Cryptography in the Cloud In the Data Analytics pathway, you study specialist topics such as: Strategic Information Systems Data Analytics Website Design & Development Advanced Programming for Data Analysis and Big Data Analytics Visualisation

Assessment method

You will study two core units − one core, 15-credit, unit at Level 4 and one core, 30-credit unit at Level 5 − will be assessed by a mandatory Pearson-set assignment targeted at particular skills. All other units are assessed by centre-devised internal assignments.

How to apply

Points of entry

The following entry points are available for this course:

  • Year 1

Entry requirements

Qualification requirements

For students who have recently been in education, the entry profile is likely to include one of the following: - A BTEC Level 3 qualification in Computing (or a related subject) - A GCE Advanced Level profile that demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject or adequate performance in more than one GCE subject; this profile is likely to be supported by GCSE grades A* to C and/or 9 to 4 (or equivalent) in subjects such as Maths and English - Other related Level 3 qualifications - An Access to Higher Education Diploma awarded by an approved further education institution - Related work experience - An international equivalent of the above

Unistats information

Operated by the Office for Students

There is no data available for this course. For further information visit the Discover Uni website.

Fees and funding

Tuition fees

England £600 Credit
Northern Ireland £600 Credit
Scotland £600 Credit
Wales £600 Credit

Additional fee information

The course fees for a Part-time HND is £600 per 15 credits. Bradford College is committed to delivering quality, affordable degrees. We work hard to cut the cost and not the corners on our undergraduate, postgraduate and professional courses. The tuition fee rate per year is fixed for the duration of the course providing there is no break in study. You will not be asked to pay these fees up front, as you should be eligible for loans to cover the tuition fees and assist with living expenses from Student Finance England. However, please ensure that you have made your application and secured funding for your course prior to registration.
Computing (HTQ) at Bradford College - UCAS