North Kent College

Degree level: Undergraduate
Awarded by: Pearson Education Ltd
Make sure you check on the university, college or conservatoire website for any updates about course changes as a result of COVID-19.

Course summary

The Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Computing (RQF) provides a specialist work-related programme of study that covers the key knowledge, understanding and practical skills required in the computing sector and also offers particular specialist emphasis through the choice of specialist units. The Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Computing is a qualification with a minimum of 120 credits of which 45 credits are mandatory core. The BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma programme must contain a minimum of 65 credits at level 4. The course offers a progression route for learners who are employed in the IT and computing sectors. Learners studying the BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma will be able to progress to the workplace or to a BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma or a degree programme.

Course details


Compulsory Courses • Unit 1: Business Skills for e-Commerce: 15 • Unit 2: Computer Systems: 15 • Unit 3: Employability and Professional Development: 15 Specialised Courses • Unit 14: Website Design: 15 • Unit 17: Database Design Concepts: 15 • Unit 19: Object Oriented Programming: 15 • Unit 24: Networking Technologies: 15 • Unit 26: Design a Small or Home Office Network: 15

Assessment method

A variety of assessment methods are used that include practical observation, essay-based coursework, numerical and situational problem solving coursework, and presentations. Student centred learning involving library based work, video and computer based analysis will be encouraged.

How to apply

Application deadlines

If your application is completed by the following date, it’s guaranteed to be considered:

15 January

*If you apply after this deadline, universities or colleges don’t have to consider your application if they’ve filled their spaces, so the sooner you apply, the better!

Application codes

You will need these codes when you add a choice to your application.

Course codeI101
Institution code N85
Campus nameDartford Campus
Campus code1

Points of entry

The following entry points are available for this course:

  • Year 1

Entry requirements

Qualification requirements

QualificationOfferFurther information
UCAS Tariff 48 points
A level DD
Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma (first teaching from September 2016) PPP

Students under 21: 48 UCAS points We also accept equivalent qualifications, including: . BTEC/National Diploma . International Baccalaureate . Advanced & Progression Diplomas . Access courses Plus: GCSE English language & Maths with a minimum of grade C or recognised equivalent are required Students over 21: If you do not have the above UCAS for GCSE requirements but have appropriate experience, specific knowledge or industry-based qualifications, your application will be welcomed & still considered.

Additional entry requirements


Fees and funding

Tuition fees

England £5950 Year 1
Northern Ireland £5950 Year 1
Scotland £5950 Year 1
Wales £5950 Year 1

Additional fee information

Students must be aware that they are liable for the full fees once they have enrolled on their course. Students who have been approved for the loan then subsequently withdraw from the course will be liable for the partial fees dependant on the date they withdraw.
Computing at North Kent College - UCAS