There are other course options available which may have a different vacancy status or entry requirements – view the full list of options

Make sure you check on the university, college or conservatoire website for any updates about course changes as a result of COVID-19.

Course summary

The Higher National Certificate Level 4 (HTQ) is a contemporary, cutting-edge programme aimed at those who are eager to follow a career in various job roles within the high tech and ever-changing world of Software Development, Cybersecurity and Networking. Students on this programme will have a range of different backgrounds and interests meaning the programme will have a rounded approach to delivery and content. There are also a range of vendor qualifications available that are recognised within the chosen industry. These qualifications will give you the skills to progress as an IT professional and employers often regard vendor certifications as the industry standard. The course is run from our SciTech Digital Innovation Hub which offers cutting edge facilities and equipment.

This Higher Technical Qualification is approved against occupational standards decided by employers. Learn more about Higher Technical Qualifications.


The course offers several pathways that you can choose to study. Each pathway is underpinned by a supporting range of mandatory core modules that help you to determine an employability pathway. The mandatory core modules are: – Programming – Networking – Professional practice – Database design and development – Security – Planning a computing project (set by Pearson) – Website design and development You will choose one unit from the following group: – Data analytics – Computer systems architecture – Cyber security Additional qualifications may be gained in the following subjects dependant on the pathway you study: Axelos pathway – Prince 2 Foundation Qualification – RESILIA Foundation Qualification Cisco – Cisco IT Essentials – Cisco CCNA Routing and Switching – Cisco CCNA Security CompTIA – CompTIA A+ – Network+ – CompTIA Security+ – CompTIA Cloud+ – CompTIA Server+ – CompTIA Linux+

Assessment method

Specific assessment strategies include practical work, written assessments, examinations, case studies, presentations and reports offering the opportunity for students to demonstrate knowledge, understanding and application of both general and specific business principles. Such methods will also allow you to indicate both the breadth and depth of your directed and independent research. Some modules are assessed partly using group activities as well as independent activities.

How to apply

Application codes

Please select a course option – you will then see the application code you need to use to apply for the course.

Points of entry

The following entry points are available for this course:

  • Year 1

International applicants

We are not currently accepting international applications

Entry requirements

Qualification requirements

64 UCAS Points from either subject relevant A Level or BTEC equivalent qualifications or an Access to HE Diploma. GCSE English and Maths at grade C/4 or above. We welcome applications from students with prior learning and or previous experience. Evidence should be submitted through the application and interview process.

Please click the following link to find out more about qualification requirements for this course

Additional entry requirements


English language requirements

English grade C/4 or above

Unistats information

Operated by the Office for Students

There is no data available for this course. For further information visit the Discover Uni website.

Fees and funding

Tuition fees

England £5995 Year 1
Northern Ireland £5995 Year 1
Scotland £5995 Year 1
Wales £5995 Year 1

Additional fee information

Fees are quoted based on 2022 entry information and are subject to change for 2023.
Computing and Systems Development Higher National Certificate (HTQ) at Barnsley College Higher Education - UCAS